13 units of competency are required for this qualification comprising:

6 core units listed below, plus

7 elective units.

Choose 5 elective units from Group A elective units listed below.

Choose 2 elective units from either Group B general elective units or from elsewhere within this training package, or from another endorsed training package, or from an accredited course.

All elective units chosen from outside this qualification must support the learning outcomes of this AQF qualification level.

Elective units chosen must not duplicate content already covered by other units in this qualification.

Where imported units are selected, care must be taken to ensure that all prerequisite units specified are complied with.

Core units

add topic DEFDPA001

Promote the organisations mission and values

add topic DEFDPA002

Identify material suitable for media publication

add topic DEFDPA009

Apply knowledge of public affairs in a service environment

add topic DEFGEN001

Work in a team

add topic DEFGEN006

Work with equity and diversity

add topic DEFGEN019

Write material suitable for publication within Defence

Group A: Specialisation elective units

add topic BSBWOR301

Organise personal work priorities and development

add topic PSPGEN003

Deliver a service to clients

add topic PUACOM001C

Communicate in the workplace

add topic PUACOM003B

Manage information

add topic PUACOM005B

Foster a positive organisational image in the community

add topic PUACOM006B

Plan and conduct a public awareness program

add topic PUACOM007B

Liaise with other organisations

add topic PUACOM011B

Develop community awareness networks

add topic PUACOM012B

Liaise with media at a local level

Group B: General elective units

add topic BSBWHS201

Contribute to health and safety of self and others

add topic PSPGEN011

Build and maintain internal networks

add topic PUAMAN002B

Administer work group resources

add topic PUAOPE015A

Conduct briefings and debriefings