13 units of competency are required for this qualification comprising:

9 core units listed below, plus

4 elective units.

Choose a minimum of 2 elective units from the general elective units list below.

Choose the remaining 2 elective units from either the elective unit list below, or elsewhere within this training package, or another endorsed training package, or accredited course.

All elective units chosen from outside this qualification must support the learning outcomes of this AQF qualification level.

Elective units chosen must not duplicate content already covered by other units in this qualification.

Where imported units are selected, care must be taken to ensure that all prerequisite units specified are complied with.

Core units

add topic BSBADM101

Use business equipment and resources

add topic BSBITU401

Design and develop complex text documents

add topic BSBWHS401

Implement and monitor WHS policies, procedures and programs to meet legislative requirements

add topic DEFGEN006

Work with equity and diversity

add topic DEFGEN017

Identify material suitable for publication within Defence

add topic DEFGEN018

Conduct an interview to support written material

add topic DEFGEN019

Write material suitable for publication within Defence

add topic DEFGEN020

Edit provided copy

add topic DEFGEN021

Take photographs suitable for publication within Defence

General elective units

add topic BSBINM201

Process and maintain workplace information

add topic BSBSUS401

Implement and monitor environmentally sustainable work practices

add topic DEFGEN007

Conduct risk assessment in a Defence environment

add topic DEFGEN008

Treat risk within Defence at an operational level

add topic DEFGEN010

Supervise equity and diversity in the workplace

add topic DEFGEN022

Obtain images suitable for publication within Defence