8 units of competency are required for this qualification comprising:

5 core units listed below, plus

3 elective units.

Choose a minimum of 2 elective units from the list below, of which 1 must be taken from Group A.

Choose the remaining 1 elective unit from the list below or from elsewhere within this training package, or from another endorsed training package, or from an accredited course.

All elective units chosen from outside this qualification must support the learning outcomes of this AQF qualification level.

Elective units chosen must not duplicate content already covered by other units in this qualification.

Where imported units are selected, care must be taken to ensure that all prerequisite units specified are complied with.

Core units

add topic BSBLEG418

Produce complex legal documents

add topic DEFDPL009

Manage and analyse a legal file

add topic DEFDPL014

Address complex legal and ethical issues in a Defence environment

add topic DEFGEN011

Interpret policy, legislation and regulations

add topic PSPGEN045

Coordinate resource allocation and usage

Group A: Specialisation elective units

add topic DEFDPL001

Provide high-level support on service discipline matters

add topic DEFDPL002

Provide high-level support on criminal law matters

add topic DEFDPL003

Provide high-level support on administrative law matters

add topic DEFDPL005

Provide high-level support on operations law matters

add topic DEFDPL006

Provide support in legal assistance matters

Group B: General elective units

add topic BSBADM406

Organise business travel

add topic BSBCMM501

Develop and nurture relationships

add topic BSBLED503

Maintain and enhance professional practice

add topic DEFGEN007

Conduct risk assessment in a Defence environment

add topic DEFGEN008

Treat risk within Defence at an operational level

add topic PSPLEG003

Promote compliance with legislation in the public sector