8 units of competency are required for this qualification:

2 core units

6 elective units

Choose a minimum of 4 electives from the list below, of which at least 2 must be taken from Group A.

Choose the remaining 2 electives from the list below or from elsewhere within this training package, or from another endorsed training package, or from an accredited course.

All elective units selected from outside this qualification must reflect the occupational and learning outcomes of this AQF qualification level. Seek further advice on selecting imported units of competency in the DEF Implementation Guide.

Elective units selected must not duplicate content already covered by other units in this qualification.

Core units

add topic DEFEXO001

Work safely with explosive ordnance

add topic DEFEXO083

Apply explosive ordnance design principles

Group A: Specialisation units

add topic DEFEXO087

Assess the safety and suitability for service of explosive ordnance

add topic DEFEXO088

Conduct explosive capability analysis

add topic DEFEXO127

Predict and confirm explosive effects

add topic DEFEXO089

Assess specific explosives as being safe and suitable for transport

add topic DEFEXO114

Develop explosive ordnance disposal techniques and render-safe procedures

add topic DEFEXO126

Conduct post blast analysis

add topic MSS408005A

Develop the learning processes of the operations organisation

add topic MSS408006A

Develop and refine systems for continuous improvement in operations

add topic MSS408007A

Develop problem solving capability of an organisation

Group B: General elective units

add topic DEFGEN026

Manage engineering and logistic operations

add topic DEFTST007

Apply knowledge of test and evaluation processes

add topic PSPPOL601A

Develop public policy

add topic BSBMGT608

Manage innovation and continuous improvement