Certificate IV in Government (Project Management)

This specialist qualification covers the competencies required of persons responsible for the management of projects in the public sector. Electives should reflect the responsibilities of the individual and the job skills required for effective performance. Where a free choice of Electives is possible in the qualification packaging rules, Electives may also be drawn from other Training Packages to reflect the work context and career plans of the individual. Please note that the full suite of Private Sector Project Management units may be substituted for the three required Project Management units listed if this better reflects the way project management is conducted within the organisation.


15 units of competency are required for this qualification:

10 core units

5 elective units

Choose 1 unit from Group A

Choose 4 elective units from elsewhere within this Training Package, or any other endorsed Training Package or Accredited Course

Note: add topic PSPPM405A Administer simple projects cannot be selected for this qualification.

Units selected should not duplicate content already covered by other units in this qualification.

All elective units must be selected from an equivalent qualification level or higher, unless otherwise stated.

** For this qualification, a maximum of 1 unit from Certificate III level may be used

Core Units

add topic PSPETHC401A

Uphold and support the values and principles of public service

add topic PSPGOV402B

Deliver and monitor service to clients

add topic PSPGOV408A

Value diversity

add topic PSPGOV412A

Use advanced workplace communication strategies

add topic PSPGOV417A

Identify and treat risks

add topic PSPGOV422A

Apply government processes

add topic PSPPOL404A

Support policy implementation

add topic PSPPM401B

Design simple projects

add topic PSPPM402B

Manage simple projects

add topic PSPPM403B

Close simple projects

Please note that, once endorsed, the full suite of private sector project management competency standards below* (8 units) may be substituted for these three core units.

Group A Elective Units

add topic PSPOHS301A

Contribute to workplace safety

add topic PSPOHS401B

Implement workplace safety procedures and programs

Equivalent Units

The following 8 units together are considered equivalent to the three units add topic PSPPM401B , add topic PSPPM402B & add topic PSPPM403B together.

add topic BSBPMG401A

Apply project scope management techniques

add topic BSBPMG402A

Apply time management techniques

add topic BSBPMG403A

Apply cost management techniques

add topic BSBPMG404A

Apply quality management techniques

add topic BSBPMG405A

Apply human resources management approaches

add topic BSBPMG406A

Apply communications management techniques

add topic BSBPMG407A

Apply risk management techniques

add topic BSBPMG408A

Apply contract and procurement techniques


    Not applicable.

Entry Requirements

Not applicable.

Licensing Information

Not applicable.

Employability Skills

Not applicable.