Certificate IV in Government (Security)

This specialist qualification covers the competencies required for working without supervision in the government security area of the public sector. Where a free choice of electives is available these may be drawn from this or other Training Packages to reflect the particular work context or career plans of the individual.


15 units of competency are required for this qualification:

10 core units

5 elective units

Choose 5 elective units from the list below, including:

2 units from below. Note - only 1 of the 2 OH&S units may be selected.

3 units from elsewhere within this Training Package, or from another endorsed Training Package or Accredited Course.

Units selected should not duplicate content already covered by other units in this qualification.

All elective units must be selected from an equivalent qualification level or higher, unless otherwise stated.

** For this qualification, a maximum of 1 unit from Certificate III level may be used.

Core Units

add topic PSPETHC401A

Uphold and support the values and principles of public service

add topic PSPGOV402B

Deliver and monitor service to clients

add topic PSPGOV408A

Value diversity

add topic PSPGOV412A

Use advanced workplace communication strategies

add topic PSPGOV422A

Apply government processes

add topic PSPLEGN401A

Encourage compliance with legislation in the public sector

add topic PSPSEC401A

Undertake government security risk analysis

add topic PSPSEC402A

Implement security risk treatments

add topic PSPSEC403A

Develop and advise on government security procedures

add topic PSPSEC405A

Handle security classified information

Elective Units

add topic PSPOHS301A

Contribute to workplace safety

add topic PSPOHS401B

Implement workplace safety procedures and programs

add topic PSPPOL404A

Support policy implementation


    Not applicable.

Entry Requirements

Not applicable.

Licensing Information

Not applicable.

Employability Skills

Not applicable.