Diploma of Government (Security)

This specialist qualification covers the competencies required for independent and self-directed work in the public sector as a practitioner in government security management. Where a free choice of elective is available these may be drawn from this or other Training Packages to reflect the particular work context or career plans of the individual


11 units of competency are required for this qualification:

6 core units

5 elective units

Choose elective units from the list below.

Up to 2 elective units may be selected from elsewhere within this Training Package, or another endorsed Training Package or Accredited Course.

Units selected should not duplicate content already covered by units in this qualification.

All elective units must be selected from an equivalent qualification level or higher, unless otherwise stated.

** For this qualification, a maximum of 1 unit from Certificate IV level may be used.

Core Units

add topic PSPETHC501B

Promote the values and ethos of the public service

add topic PSPLEGN501B

Promote compliance with legislation in the public sector

add topic PSPSEC501A

Assess security risks

add topic PSPSEC502A

Develop security risk management plans

add topic PSPSEC503A

Implement and monitor security risk management plans

add topic PSPSEC504A

Coordinate protective security

Elective Units

add topic PSPGOV504B

Undertake research and analysis

add topic PSPGOV505A

Promote diversity

add topic PSPGOV508A

Manage conflict

add topic PSPGOV512A

Use complex workplace communication strategies

add topic PSPGOV517A

Coordinate risk management

add topic PSPOHS501A

Monitor and maintain workplace safety


    Not applicable.

Entry Requirements

Not applicable.

Licensing Information

Not applicable.

Employability Skills

Not applicable.